SISE: Photographer research

Screen Shot 2014-10-22 at 15.01.16 Screen Shot 2014-10-22 at 15.11.10 Screen Shot 2014-10-22 at 15.11.53 Screen Shot 2014-10-22 at 15.14.26Screen Shot 2014-10-23 at 23.25.54

 

Michael Ståhle is a photographer that I discovered while browsing Flickr and who sprung to mind while we had our still image workshop in town focusing on a ‘sense of place’.

I think Ståhle’s work does this well, the images above show the complete contrast of the mood in different places by the use of framing, lighting and viewpoint.

The reason I began looking at his blog in the first place is because I was looking for travel blogs and searching the travel tags page when I discovered his photographs of China which were beautiful. This then lead me to his overall body of work which I came to realize was extremely varied from portraiture, landscape and the study of fascinating architectural landmarks.

I thought his work would be a good one to research because of the variety of his work. His images are so vibrant and captivating. He takes photographs of normal, every day objects and scenes and makes them interesting. This is why I thought he would fit in with the theme of ‘a sense of place’ as this is what the majority of his images are about.

 

 

Leave a Reply

